The composition of the society’s council is laid down in its constitution. The council for session 163 (2020-2021) is:


President Neil Clark (
Vice Presidents Brian Bell
  Simon Cuthbert
Honorary Secretary Walter Semple (
Treasurer Ian Veitch (
Membership Secretary Campbell Forrest (
Meetings Secretary David Webster (
Assistant Meetings Secretary Ian Millar
Librarian Post vacant
Assistant Librarian/Honorary Archivist Margaret Anderson (
Excursions Secretary (Day) Roy Bryce (
Excursions Secretary (Residential) Margaret Donnelly (
Minutes Secretary Walter Semple (
Junior Members’ Representative Matthew Staitis (
Proceedings Editor David Webster (
Publications Officer Post vacant
Webmaster Bill Gray (
Web Consultant Neil Clark (
Newsletter Editor David Webster (
Editors, Scottish Journal of Geology Colin Braithwaite
To be announced
Ordinary Members Mina Cummings
Gary Hoare
Anna Milligan