The composition of the society’s council is laid down in its constitution. The council for session 166 (2023-2024) is as follows.

President Simon Cuthbert (
Vice Presidents Neil Clark
  Margaret Donnelly
Honorary Secretary David Webster (
Treasurer Ian Veitch (
Membership Secretary Gary Hoare (
Meetings Secretary Ian Millar (
Excursions Secretary Lindsay Smith (
Honorary Archivist Margaret Anderson (
Publications Officer Gary Hoare (
Librarian Lindsay Smith (
Webmaster Bill Gray (
Ordinary Members Bobby Alexander
Campbell Forrest
John Guerrier
Luisa Hendry
Chair, Strathclyde Geoconservation Group Margaret Greene (