Loading Events

April 2020

Friday 24 Apr

Islay

Start date: Friday, 24 Apr 2020 12:00pm
End date: Monday, 27 Apr 2020 12:00pm
Islay

This excursion has been cancelled because of the coronavirus outbreak. We hope to reschedule it for 2021.

May 2020

Friday 08 May

Ardnamurchan

Start date: Friday, 08 May 2020 12:00pm
End date: Monday, 11 May 2020 12:00pm
Ardnamurchan

This excursion has been cancelled because of the coronavirus outbreak. We hope to reschedule it for 2021.

Tuesday 12 May

Port Askaig 2020

Start date: Tuesday, 12 May 2020 09:00am
End date: Wednesday, 13 May 2020 05:00pm
Port Askaig 2020

Presentations of the results of a long-term field campaign on the 1100 m thick Port Askaig Formation focused on the exposures in the Garvellach Islands and Islay

Thursday 14 May

Members’ Night

Thursday, 14 May 2020 07:30pm
Members’ Night

This event has been cancelled because of the coronavirus outbreak.

June 2020

Saturday 06 Jun

Onich Shore

Saturday, 06 Jun 2020 09:00am
Onich Shore

A classic east-west cross-section through folded Dalradian metasediments: part of the Appin Syncline, including Appin Phyllite, Limestone and Quartzite, with Ballachulish Slates and some minor basic dykes and intrusive bodies.

Saturday 13 Jun

Great Cumbrae

Saturday, 13 Jun 2020 09:00am
Great Cumbrae

A great opportunity to view the wonderfully varied geology of this small island.

Saturday 27 Jun

Queensferry

Saturday, 27 Jun 2020 09:00am
Queensferry

Accessible exposures along the shore to the east of South Queensferry, including the Lower Carboniferous West Lothian Oil-Shale Formation and the older Gullane Formation below this (both Strathclyde Group).

July 2020

Saturday 11 Jul

Hessilhead

Saturday, 11 Jul 2020 09:00am
Hessilhead

A visit to a disused quarry to see the fossils and rocks of the Lower Limestone Group of Ayrshire. The site is also abundant in wildlife and plants.

August 2020

Saturday 01 Aug

Charlestown Lime Centre

Saturday, 01 Aug 2020 09:00am
Charlestown Lime Centre

A presentation on the history of the lime industry in Charlestown and the geology and palaeontology of the Blackhall Limestone, followed by a walk to examine outcrops of the Blackhall Limestone and the Early Carboniferous Visean Limestone, with a chance to look for fossils in quarry spoil heaps.